h1

lost for words thanks to lost in translation

March 20, 2009

Lost in Translation, a movie which received such high regard in the cinema world meant nothing to me. It was literally a movie about nothing. It was a romance without consummation. The whole movie I was waiting for the two leads to perform adultery, and cheat on their respective spouses. Maybe that says more about society today, I’m just used to a romance movie to HAVE romance in it. I’m used to seeing people cheat on each other on film, and then return to their normal lives. Some of my favorite movies have this, Match Point, Closer, and the Last Kiss. All of these the lead characters have affairs and then simply return to their life as usual. I suppose I just expected the tension between Scarlett Johansan and Billy Murray to just finally explode. And it didn’t, no fireworks, not even a baby spark.
Also, I felt like the movie reminded me of http://www.engrish.com. A website dedicated to finding the error in Asian sayings.
Some things I did like, the establishment shots of Tokyo. Portraying the feeling that American’s have when they travel abroad, esp to Asian countries, for example the elevator scene where Bill Murray is taller than everyone there. ScarJo especially, feeling lost and out of place.
My favorite part, was probably when I put together the title and the plot. When Bill Murray was filming the commercial and the director said about a million things and the translator translated like 2. Lost in Translation. Perfect. The rest was unnecessary.

Leave a comment